Ever seen that bumper sticker that proclaims: If I’d known how much fun grandchildren would be, I’d have had them first?  Well it’s true. I have four grandkids so far and they are so much fun. They range in age from 14 years down to 5 months. So far, I haven’t had alot of time with the youngest. His parents are afraid I might corrupt him just like the first three!

We go to the park, play on the slides and swings, go swimming, go out for ice-cream, and go camping. They already know that it’s not a good idea to tell Mom and Dad everything that happens at Grandma’s because parents just don’t understand how pretzels and marshmallows can make a good dinner. Or how it can be okay to stay up tomidnightto see if you can catch one of Santa’s elves checking up on you. 

The oldest is a very enthusiastic musician, and he comes to Grandma’s house to practice on his bass clarinet. It seems I’m the only one who recognizes the future Mozart flowing forth from beneath his fingers. Here, he can practice as long as he wants without worrying about waking up the baby. Sometime it’s not fun to be the oldest! Last spring, I got to go and hear the Spring Concert that his school band put on. He is so proud of being chosen for the band!

 The next in line is a four and a half year old redhead, and he’s very proud of that hair! He started school this fall, and I’m not sure they’re ready for him. He can talk nonstop for hours, telling me all about his day, and how his cat Zen is doing, and where he thinks we should go camping this summer. He’s pushing for a small town in the Mountains called Revelstoke. His parents took the family camping there last summer and he can’t wait to go back. There’s a dam and a great big swimming pool and best of all, a train museum! He’s very partial to trains.

 Tank is only three, and I call him tank for a reason. He may be small but he’s solid and once he decides he’s going to do something, it’s like trying to stop a tank. He has a stubborn streak a mile wide!  He has one of those grins that you know is going to cause the girls a lot of trouble when he gets older,  and his eyes twinkle with mischief most of the time.

 Yesterday, I picked all three of them up at lunchtime and we went to the park one town over where there’s a water spray area as well as a play area and lots of nice shady trees. I sat under a nice shady tree with my book and the picnic basket while the kids ran and played and came to snack on the picnic food whenever they felt like eating.

 I don’t remember my children ever being so easy to look after. So if you have the chance, get yourself  some grandkids. They’re so much more fun than the original kids!

